J. G. Crawford Prizes

The J. G. Crawford Prize Fund was established in 1973 to recognise Sir John Crawford's outstanding contribution to the Australian National University, successively as Director of the Research School of Pacific Studies for seven years and as Vice-Chancellor for five years.

Three prizes are awarded annually to two PhD and one Masters degree students, admitted by the Council to their degrees in the previous year. The recipients courses of study have been composed of, or included, research and the preparation of a thesis.

Academic excellence is the basic criterion for the award of the Prizes. The Prize consists of a medal manufactured by the Australian Mint.

1997 Prize Winners

In accordance with conditions for the J G Crawford Prizes, the Selection Committee recommends the award of the 1997 J G Crawford Prizes (1118/1998) to the following:

PhD Prize (Group A)
Andrew G. White
Department of Physics and Theoretical Physics, Faculty of Science
PhD thesis title: "Classical and quantum dynamics of optical frequency conversion"

PhD Prize (Group B)
Yongxian Luo
National Thai Studies Centre, Faculty of Asian Studies
PhD thesis title: "The Subgroup Structure of the Tai Languages: A Historical Comparative Study"

Master Prize
Hanh Nguyet Ngo
Canberra School of Art, Institute of the Arts
MA (Visual Arts) thesis title:
"The Unchaste Heroine: the feminine ideal in the national epic poem of Vietnam, Truyen Kieu (The Tale of Kieu)"